Focus 16: China in 50 Dishes

China In 50 Dishes showcases the country’s classic cuisine in all of its salty, spicy, sour, bitter and sweet glory.

From noodles to dim sum to desserts, we take you on a mouthwatering tour of 50 different types of Chinese food, talking about their origins, how they are prepared and a few of the best places to enjoy them.

First on the menu is an introduction of the Four “Great” Cuisines of China: Shandong cuisine or lu cai, from the north; Sichuan cuisine or chuan cai for the western regions; Huaiyang cuisine from the eastern coast; and Cantonese cuisine or yue cai from the south. After that there is a selection of dishes from each culinary style, plus an extra category for favourites that originate from other parts of China, including Yunnan, Dongbei, Hunan and Xinjiang.

Happy reading – and happy eating!

To download China In 50 Dishes, click here

To read it online, check out the chapters below

© ChinTell Ltd. All rights reserved.

Sponsored by HSBC.

The Week in China website and the weekly magazine publications are owned and maintained by ChinTell Limited, Hong Kong. Neither HSBC nor any member of the HSBC group of companies ("HSBC") endorses the contents and/or is involved in selecting, creating or editing the contents of the Week in China website or the Week in China magazine. The views expressed in these publications are solely the views of ChinTell Limited and do not necessarily reflect the views or investment ideas of HSBC. No responsibility will therefore be assumed by HSBC for the contents of these publications or for the errors or omissions therein.